Capstone LED Puck Lights (6 pack)

[Scroll down to view product info]

A lot of older homes suffer from the same problems…not enough power outlets, poor natural light or not enough built-in artificial lighting. So if you need additional lighting, then check out the Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack at Costco. Maybe you have a closet with no or lacking lighting. Just attach one of the Capstone LED Puck Lights to the inside of the closet and your problem is solved. And anyone can install it because it doesn’t require any wiring to be run. If you prefer, you can control the Capstone LED Puck Lights with the included remote control which has a bunch of features like controlling up to 36 puck lights, dimmer and timer. I can see me using these puck lights underneath kitchen cabinets, just above the counter. Or inside a glass cabinet where you are displaying your fine China. Either way, the Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack are versatile, compact and ready to use in just a few minutes.


Capstone LED Puck Lights  – Instant LED lighting without the hassle of wiring
Capstone LED Puck Lights – Instant LED lighting without the hassle of wiring

Here are the specs:

Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack Product Info

Costco Item#: 862760
Costco Price: $19.99
Found at: Costco in Redwood City, CA (2300 Middlefield Rd)
(price and availability may vary per Costco location)

Capstone LED Puck Lights: brighten your life the easy way
Capstone LED Puck Lights: brighten your life the easy way

Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack – No wiring required
Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack – No wiring required

Deal for a 6 pack of Capstone LED Puck Lights at Costco
Deal for a 6 pack of Capstone LED Puck Lights at Costco

Capstone LED Puck Lights 6 Pack – One touch for Puck light on/off operation. Remote control has a range of 20 ft. Wireless on/off remote with timer and dimmer functions.

    Key Features:
  • Remote control – can control up to 36 puck lights
  • No wiring required
  • Push button manual activation
  • Dimmer – controls brightness of all pucks
  • Dimmer presets – 10%, 40%, 80% and 100% brightness
  • Timer presets – 10, 30, 60 or 120 minutes
  • Estimated battery life at 100% is 20 hours

68 comments:

Cynthia French said...

Bought today...return tomorrow. Horrible cold bright blue depressing color . Too many people sacrificing atmosphere for saving a few pennies. Warm glow is the only light for me.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Cynthia, that's awfully disappointing to hear that the Capstone LED Puck Lights did not work out for you. It's a good thing Costco has a good return policy for situations like these.

Cynderella618 said...

I love the lights, however I tried not to use them all the time so I could conserve the battery life. Now they don't work at all. My friend bought them around the same time, did the same thing, and hers don't work either! I'd love to know if there's a quick fix - an alternative to having to take them back.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Cynderella618, that's really strange that your and your friend's Capstone LED Puck Lights stopped working. Hopefully, someone on here can recommend a way to fix your lights.

Claire L. said...

My sister bought these and was disappointed that the remote timing only goes for up to 120 minutes. She would like them to stay on for 6 hours at a time. Perhaps there might be a remote control out there that would be compatible with these lights and that would have a 6 hour timer?

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Claire, ya that'd be great if the Capstone LED Puck Lights can be set for up to 6 hours. Unfortunately, I'm not aware of a separate remote that can do this. Hopefully the manufacturer changes this in subsequent models.

Jill said...

My puck lights stopped working after about 6 uses. Very disappointing.

Jill said...

My puck lights stopped working after about 6 uses. Very disappointing.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Jill, yes it is quite disappointing for your Capstone LED Puck Lights to stop working after only six uses. I wonder what the deal is with these lights. The manufacturer must do a better job with their quality control.

Jaana Bess said...

Mine stopped working as well :( Im supper bummed :(

Jaana Bess said...

Mine stopped working as well :( Im supper bummed :(

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Jaana, thanks for letting us know that you too are having issues with the Capstone LED Puck Lights. There obviously appears to be a problem with these lights.

KathleenM said...

Just bought these and spent (wasted) 15 minutes getting the packaging open and putting batteries in. Dead. Nothing. Complete waste of time and money. Surprised Costco is selling this junk.

Anonymous said...

I thought the same thing this morning on a set from Christmas, dead. Instructions does not say but pull the plastic strip from the remote and bingo. I like the lights want to get more

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @KathleenM, sorry to hear that the Capstone LED Puck Lights that you got were defective right out of the package. I hope you were able to return it and get a full refund.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Anonymous, ya sometimes it's easy to overlook that little plastic strip that so often appears in remotes. That's great that you were able to get it up and running with that quick fix and that they're working out well for you.

Unknown said...

Bought and installed last night. Impressed thus far although longevity and reliability yet TBD. 3X AAA battery installation is key: make sure + and - polarity is correct on all 3 batts. Very inexpensive way toadd under-cabinet lighting to counter and backsplash. Install as close as possible to wall for optimum sconce lighting effect.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Unknown, I'm glad to hear that the Capstone LED Puck Lights seem to be working out for you. Hopefully, they'll last you a very long time.

Robert said...

A friend and I purchased and we have found out that the batteries seem to discharge on their own. We both had all lights batteries discharge. 3aaa can get expensive. Anybody else notice this?

Robert said...

A friend and I purchased and we have found out that the batteries seem to discharge on their own. We both had all lights batteries discharge. 3aaa can get expensive. Anybody else notice this?

Chaz said...

Went through the provided set of batteries quickly even though kept on 40% power most of the time. Dropped the remote on the wood floor...now it doesn't work. Great. Once the batteries need changing they will be 100% power and not what we need or want.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Robert, that's sucks that the batteries discharge on their own on your Capstone LED Puck Lights. Ya, constantly going through 3 AAA batteries can definitely be pricey.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Chaz, hmmmm that's strange that the Capstone LED Puck Lights that you have are now on at 100% power. I wonder if that is a common issue on these lights.

Anonymous said...

Bought a set for my basement stairwell. Mounted the remote on the wall. Works great and lights up the entire stairwell. Love them. Will be getting more.

Anonymous said...

I never post reviews but compelled to with this product.......Don't buy!!! I LOVED these for the first week and told my friends and relatives to run out and purchase these. I even went to buy more myself! After 3 weeks of very minimal use, they remain dim and will not come up to full brightness. Contacted Capstone to see if there was a remedy and after speaking with a condescending customer service rep, will not be buying from this company again. Be aware that they last 20 hours (must have been stated in the fine print) therefore with even minimal use, a couple of weeks for them to last is not acceptable in my book.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Anonymous, I'm glad to hear that you're making good use of the Capstone LED Puck Lights for your basement stairwell. That's great that that space is properly lit and now safer.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Anonymous, thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Capstone LED Puck Lights. That's unfortunate to hear that they're not working quite as expected. It sounds like the manufacturer not only should think about improving their own product but also their customer service as well.

Anonymous said...

I used mine, maybe, for a total of 10 minutes since I bought them. I turned them on last week only 3 worked. Tonight one light still works, after reading here I assume it's dead batteries. Very disappointed.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Anonymous, ya numerous people seem to have the same problem as you with these Capstone LED Puck Lights. The issues have been quite consistent, but hopefully the manufacturer takes notice and starts making these with better quality.

Unknown said...

I thought these light would be nice uder my kitchen cabinets. Plus working on batteries they would be an alternative for a power outage. I was wrong they seem to drain the batteries when not lighted. They are very unreliable and untrustworthy to use for a power outage. If I could get the sticky backs off of the underside of my cabinets I would throw them out. They aren't worth the gasoline to return them to costco

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Unknown, that's a bummer that the batteries for the Capstone LED Puck Lights drain when the lights aren't turned on. If you want to uninstall them altogether and need to get rid of the sticky residue, try using Goo Gone which does a really good job removing the sticky substance that may be left over from the adhesive. I hope this help!

Unknown said...

I was very excited finding this product at COSTCO. But unfortunately, they stopped working after few times of turning on. Its a puzzle for me without using how can batteries loose power. Didn't expect this kind of product.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Unknown, that's terrible that your Capstone LED Puck Lights stopped working. I hope you returned it. I guess these lights aren't made too well. It'd be great if they were though.

Anonymous said...

We too purchased some of these lights--both for stairway and under the kitchen cabinets. Worked for quite a while, then the batteries died also. We're just replacing the batteries and still using them. Still like the light they give off and the remote is wonderful on the stairway, as we have one mounted at the top and bottom of the stairway. Otherwise, there would be only one light at the top, with a switch that only works one way...older houses sometimes have their drawbacks... We're getting a generator for power outages, or we have backup flashlights and candles.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Anonymous, that's good that the Capstone LED Puck Lights you installed in your stairway and cabinets are working out great for you. I'm sure they look great in your home. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Anonymous said...

The batteries in all of my lights died, and some had not been used. I suspect the remote feature is to blame. If the lights have a receiver that constantly looks for a signal from the remote, that would maybe explain why the batteries are drained. Is there a way to disable the remote, and just use them by pushing the button?

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Anonymous, I'm not too sure if there's a way to deactivate the remote in order to save battery on the Capstone LED Puck Lights. That would definitely be a cool and new feature if the manufacturer ever decided to have in later models.

Anonymous said...

Possibly not getting good contact to batteries. If you push the prongs out a little where batteries go, it should work. This was issue w/ mine.

ExecMemberMike said...

Thanks for the helpful tip @Anonymous! I'm sure some of those having issues will find this information very useful to troubleshoot their Capstone LED Puck Lights.

Tina .D said...

Purchased these a couple months ago. Didn't put the batteries until recently. Turned them on only to check them out, as I haven't even mounted them yet. The first 5 times i brieftly turned them on (no more than 1 minute) they all worked. 6th time turned on, one did not work. 7th time i tried to turn them on, none of them worked. My mother bought them as well a couple months ago... they no longer work.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Tina, you and your mom seem to have the same or similar issues as other people who have purchased these Capstone LED Puck Lights. The manufacturer should really make an effort to address and fix these issues with their lights in subsequent models. I hope you're able to return your defective lights to Costco for a full refund.

Charmaine said...

I purchased a packet of these lights and I absolutely LOVE them. I am unable to get them at my Lancaster, CA Costco....can anyone tell me where I can purchase a packet. Thanks!

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Charmaine, I'm glad to hear that the Capstone LED Puck Lights are totally working out for you. Unfortunately, the availability of this product will vary per Costco location. If none of the Costcos near you have them in stock, you could probably find them online like in Amazon, but it most likely won't be as cheap as it would be at Costco.

Steve Salavarria said...

For those of you who had failures, did you have any success with the warranty and obtaining replacements using Capstone's customer service number shown in the instruction sheet?

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Steve, it's definitely worth a try to give the customer service a call if you're having issues with your Capstone LED Puck Lights. Definitely let us know how it went and your experience if you do call.

mjw said...

On the instructions, it shows the sensor arrows slightly apart. The lights still work if the arrows are lined up with or without the remote, so I am wondering if the arrows apart or aligned make a difference in the discharging. Any thoughts?

I am going to test by having two lights sit one aligned the other apart. We'll see if it makes a difference.

Dave W.


ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Dave (@mjw), I'm not too sure if the Capstone LED Puck Lights' arrows have to be aligned or not, but let us know if it makes a difference after your test.

Laura Chambers said...

Bought these and not a single one works. I pulled the little tab out of the remote, still nothing. Very disappointed in this product.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Laura, I guess a lot of people are having issues with their Capstone Puck Lights. That's just unacceptable that all of them didn't work. How disappointing. It's too bad that they're not made better.

Unknown said...

I've had these for less than a month and am hoping that I can get them upstuck and that Costco will take them back without packaging or receipt. (I'm poorish - can't afford to let even twenty bucks go down the drain.) Half of them are already dead - have used up the batteries already. I trusted Costco to have a good product and they failed in this case.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Unknown, even though you no longer have the original packaging and receipt for the Capstone Puck Lights, I think you can still return it for a refund. I'm not exactly sure, but I would think that Costco would have a record of your purchase whereas other stores wouldn't give you the time of day. I really do hope that you can remove those lights and return it. Even though they're only $20 or so, it's only right that you get your money back for getting a defective unit through no fault of your own. Good luck!

Doug said...

These lights eat AAA batteries. I've already replaced the batteries twice. I'm pulling them off my shelves and returning to Costco.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Doug, ya that's probably a good idea to return your Capstone Puck Lights if they're going through batteries rather quickly. I hope this is just an isolated case and not a trend found in all Capstone Puck Lights being sold.

Unknown said...

I purchased several packs of the Capstone Puck Lights. I was concerned that the batteries that came with the lights didn't last very long, but I replaced all the batteries when I found them unresponsive, , in case they had been in the package for a while. Imagine my surprise to find that the new batteries died just as quickly! The puck lights appear to be using the batteries when they are turned off! ADDITIONALLY, I have never had as many leaking / failed batteries as I have experienced using the puck lights. There is an issue with these that needs to be corrected, or they should be pulled from the shelves as "unsafe at any illumination"

southeastern pa said...

I bought the lights and like many others they worked fine for a bit and slowly stopped working....replaced the batteries and they worked for a short while then stopped again..dead batteries. Very bad product.....DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME ON THESE LIGHTS!

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @southestern, thanks for your review for the Capstone LED Puck Lights. There's obviously something wrong with them since so many people are having issues. That and/or they're just made poorly.

Tennisgurl said...

Same problem as others….THESE DRAIN BATTERIES WHEN NOT IN USE. I have put batteries in these lights several times. I thought maybe I just wasn't paying attention and leaving them on. I was also conscientious about setting the timer. But after playing head games with these lights for several months I am now discovering that they do in fact, drain the batteries when not in use. Very frustrating! I have spent so much money on batteries!!!!

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Tennisgurl, this seems to be a common theme when it comes to the Capstone LED Puck Lights. I guess they just aren't made very well and are a product that needs great improvement before it's worth purchasing.

Unknown said...

Do not buy these! Product is a scam. We used these for about 5 hours total and they all burnt out.

ExecMemberMike said...

Thanks @Unknown for adding your two cents in regards to these Capstone LED Puck Lights. It's unfortunate that many people are having issues with these lights.

Anonymous said...

Based on the many negative reviews, I was concerned that I had purchased a set of lemons. But it has been four months since my purchase and mine are just fine. I rarely use them and they still come on when I do turn them. So the premise that the batteries are drained even when the lights are off because they are searching for signal appears to be exaggerated -- at least in my experience.

lou buttny said...

just installed one and went to install others ...and the batteries are drained !!
NO usage at all..It seems they drain due to remote control sensors..
Do not buy this product...i will tell you weather costco stands behind this product ASAP..stay tuned..
signed Drained

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Anonymous, thanks for sharing your positive experience with the Capstone LED Puck Lights. It's actually nice to hear that they're working out well for someone for a change.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @lou, I believe Costco should be able to refund your money in regards to the Capstone LED Puck Lights that you purchased from them. I'm pretty sure you're not the first Costco member nor the last returning these lights.

Unknown said...

I too have gone through too many batteries for the brief time they are on in the pantry.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hi @Unknown, it seems like there are numerous issues regarding the battery life of the Capstone LED Puck Lights. It appears that the "estimated battery life at 100% is 20 hours" is inaccurate based on people's experiences.

Emma said...

I installed mine about 9 months ago and maybe have used them a total of 30 minutes. All of them have completely drained batteries. I definitely will return them.

ExecMemberMike said...

Hello @Emma, ya there's obviously something wrong with the Capstone LED Puck Lights battery. You shouldn't have a problem returning them to Costco for a full refund.

Post a Comment